MICCAI 2009 Young Scientist Awards  (Sponsored by NDI)

Each year, the MICCAI conference presents a number of awards to graduate student and early career scientists for outstanding papers published in the MICCAI proceedings. For MICCAI 2009, the Young Scientist Awards were coordinated by Guido Gerig, University of Utah. These papers were initially be short-listed by the programme committee and then considered by the awards committee. 
  • Eligible 186 papers, evaluation of highest normalized score papers (selected by PC as part of reviewing process) with first author a graduate student or early career scientist
  • 6 Europe, 6 North America, 3 Asia (many multi-continent papers)
  • Best 15 papers categorized into one of five prize categories (3 papers/category)
  • 5 winners, US$ 300 each, sponsored by NDI
  • Subcommittee selected winner based on reviews and presentation at conference (G. Gerig, L. Axel, E. Bullitt, A. Colchester, Ch. Davatzikos)

Winners and Runner-Ups

Category 1: Computer-assisted Intervention I: Image Analysis for Interventions
  • Winner:
    O5-3: Parallax-Free Long Bone X-ray Image Stitching, Lejing Wang, Joerg Traub, Simon Weidert, Sandro Michael Heining, Ekkehard Euler, Nassir Navab, Munich Germany
  • Runner Ups:
    O1-2 Towards Guidance of Electrophysiological Procedures with Real-Time 3D Intracardiac Echocardiography Fusion to C-arm CT, Wolfgang Wein, Estelle Camus, Matthias John, Mamadou Diallo, Christophe Duong, Amin Al-Ahmad, Rebecca Fahrig, Ali Khamene, Chenyang Xu, Siemens Princeton/Germany
P1-06-W: 3-D Respiratory Motion Compensation during EP Procedures by Image-Based 3-D Lasso Catheter Model Generation and Tracking, Alexander Brost, Rui Liao, Joachim Hornegger, Norbert Strobel, Univ. Erlangen, Siemens Princeton/Germany
Category 2: Computer-assisted Intervention II: Simulation and Robotics
  • Winner
    O6-1: Toward Real-Time Simulation of Blood-Coil Interaction during Aneurysm Embolization, Yiyi Wei, Stéphane Cotin, Le Fang, Jérémie Allard, Chunhong Pan, Songde Ma, INRIA France
  • Runner Ups
    O1-1: Optimal Transseptal Puncture Location for Robot-Assisted Left Atrial Catheter Ablation, Jagadeesan Jayender, Rajni V. Patel, Gregory F. Michaud, Nobuhiko Hata, USA/Canada 

O3-4: Single Fiber Optical Coherence Tomography Microsurgical Instruments for Computer and Robot- Assisted Retinal Surgery, Marcin Balicki, Jae-Ho Han, Iulian Iordachita, Peter Gehlbach, James Handa, Russell Taylor, Jin Kang, JHU USA

Category 3: Medical Image Computing:  Registration
  • Winner
    O4-3: Interventional 4-D Motion Estimation and Reconstruction of Cardiac Vasculature without Motion Periodicity Assumption, Christopher Rohkohl, Günter Lauritsch, Marcus Prümmer, Joachim Hornegger, Univ Erlangen/Siemens Germany
  • Runner Ups
    P2-02-T: A Demons Algorithm for Image Registration with Locally Adaptive Regularization, Nathan D. Cahill, J. Alison Noble, David J. Hawkes, UK/USA

O5-2:  Nonrigid Registration of Myocardial Perfusion MRI Using Pseudo Ground Truth, Chao Li, Ying Sun, Singapore

Category 4: Medical Image Computing: Segmentation and Analysis
  • Winner
    O8-1 Joint Segmentation of Image Ensembles via Latent Atlases, Tammy Riklin Raviv, Koen Van Leemput, William M. Wells III, Polina Golland, USA
  • Runner Ups
    O7-1: Hierarchical Normalized Cuts: Unsupervised Segmentation of Vascular Biomarkers from Ovarian Cancer Tissue Microarrays, Andrew Janowczyk, Sharat Chandran, Rajendra Singh, Dimitra Sasaroli, George Coukos, Michael D. Feldman, Anant Madabhushi, India/USA
O8-5 On the Manifold Structure of the Space of Brain Images, Samuel Gerber, Tolga Tasdizen, Sarang Joshi, Ross Whitaker
Category 5: Medical Image Computing: Shape Analysis  
  • Winner:
    O9-5: Local White Matter Geometry Indices from Diffusion Tensor Gradients, Peter Savadjiev, Gordon Kindlmann, Sylvain Bouix, Martha E. Shenton, Carl-Fredrik Westin, Boston/Chicago USA
  • Runner Ups
    P4-18-W: A Tract-Specific Framework for White Matter Morphometry Combining Macroscopic and Microscopic Tract Features, Hui Zhang, Suyash P. Awate, Sandhitsu R. Das, John H. Woo, Elias R. Melhem, James C. Gee, Paul A. Yushkevich, UPENN USA 

O9-1: Gyral Folding Pattern Analysis via Surface Profiling, Kaiming Li, Lei Guo, Gang Li, Jingxin Nie, Carlos, Faraco, Qun Zhao, Stephen Miller, Tianming Liu, China/USA

Previous MICCAI Awards