MICCAI Young Scientist Awards 2008, New York City
(Coordinator Alison Noble, member MICCAI board)
Selection process:
  • The program committee selected the 18 highest score papers with first author a graduate student or an early career scientist;
  • The papers were categorized into one of six prize categories (3 papers/category);
  • A subcommittee from the MICCAI board and the program committee selected winners based on reviews and oral and poster presentations at the conference.
Category 1: Robotics and Interventions
  • Winner: 
    The Effect of Automated Marker Detection on In Vivo Volumetric Stent  Reconstruction, Gert Schoonenberg, Pierre Lelong, Raoul Florent, Onno Wink, Bart ter Haar Romeny, Technische Universiteit Eindhoven NL, Philips Healthcare Best NL, Philips France, Paris France.
  • Runners-up:
    MR Navigated Breast Surgery: Method and Initial Clinical Experience, Timothy Carter, Christine Tanner, Nicolas Beechey-Newman, Dean Barratt, David Hawkes, CMIC UCL, UK, Guy’s Hospital London UK
Automatic Guidance of an Ultrasound Probe by Visual Servoing based on B-mode Image Moments, Rafik Mebarki, Alexandre Krupa, Christophe Collewet, IRISA INRIA Rennes-Bretagne Atlantique, Rennes France.
Category 2: Modeling and Simulation
  • Winner:
    Passive Ventricular Mechanics Modelling Using Cardiac MR Imaging of Structure and Function, Vicky Y Wang, Hoi Leng Lam, Daniel B Ennis, Alistair A Young, Martyn P Nash, U Auckland NZ, UCLA USA.
  • Runners-up:
    Cardiac Electrophysiology Model Adjustment Using the Fusion of MR and Optical Imaging, Damien Lepiller, Maxime Sermesant, Mihaela Pop, Herve Delingette, Graham A Wright, Nicholas Ayache, INRIA Sophia Antipolis, France, Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre, Toronto Canada.
Identification of atherosclerotic lesion-prone sites through patient-specific simulation of low-density lipoprotein accumulation, Ufuk Olgac, Vartan Kurtcuoglu, Stefan C Saur, Dimos Poulikakos, ETH Zurich, Switzerland.
Category 3 : General Medical Imaging Computing
  • Winner:
    On-the-fly motion-compensated cone-beam CT using an a priori motion model, Simon Rit, Jochem Wolthaus, Marcel von Herk, Jan-Jakob Sonke, The Netherlands Cancer Institute, NL.
  • Runners-up:
    A Distributed Spatio-Temporal EEG/MEG Inverse Solver, Wanmei Ou, Polina Golland, Matti Hamalianen, MIT USA, MGH USA.
Group Statistics of DTI Fiber Bundles Using Spatial Functions of Tensor Measures, Casey Goodlett, P Thomas Fletcher, John Gilmore, Guido Gerig, U. Utah USA, U. North Carolina USA.
Category 4 : Registration
  • Winner:
    A Constrained Non-Rigid Registration Algorithm for use in Prostate Image-Guided Radiotherapy, William Greene, Sudhakar Chelikani, Kailas Purushothaman, Zhe Chen, Jonathan Krisely, Lawrence Staib, Xenophon Papademetris, Jim Duncan, Yale University USA.
  • Runners-up:
    Spherical Demons: Fast Surface Registration, Boon Thye Yeo, Mert Sabunco, Tom Vercauteren, Nicholas Ayache, Bruce Fischl, Polina Golland, MIT USA, Mauna Kea Technologies, Paris France, INRIA Sophia-Antipolis France, MGH/HMS USA.

Semi-Automatic Reference Standard Construction for Quantitative Evaluation of Lung CT Registration, Keelin Murphy, Bram van Ginneken, Josien PW Pluim, Stefan Klein, Marius Staring, Utrect NL.

Category 5: Segmentation
  • Winner:
    Fully Bayesian Joint Model for MR brain scan tissue and subcortical structure segmentation, Benoit Scherrer, Florence Forbes, Catherine Garbay, Michel Dojat, INSERN, CNRS, INRIA, Universite Joseph Fourier, Grenoble France.
  • Runners-up:
    An atlas-based segmentation propagation framework using locally affine registration – Application to automatic whole heart segmentation, Xiahai Zhuang, Kawal Rhode, David Hawkes, Simon Arridge, Reza Razavi, Derek Hill, Sebastien Ourselin, CMIC UCL, KCL, UK.
Improving Parenchyma Segmentation via Estimation-Segmentation of Tissue Parameter T1 and Group-wise Registration of Inversion Recovery MR Breast Images, Ye Xing, Xhong Xue, Sarah Englander, Mitchell Schnall, Dinggang Shen, U Pennsylvania, U North Carolina USA.
Category 6 : Statistical Analysis
  • Winner:
    Sparse Approximation of Currents for Statistics on Curves and Surfaces, Stanley Durrleman, Xavier Pennec, Alain Trouve, Nicholas Ayache, INRIA Sophia-Antipolis, ENS-Cachan, France.
  • Runners-up:
    Probabilistic anatomo-functional parcellation of the cortex: how  many regions? , Alan Tucholka, Bertrand Thirion, Matthieu Perrot, Phillipe Pinel, Jean-Francois Mangin, Jean-Baptiste Poline, CEA Saclay, INRIA Saclay, INSERN UNICOG Paris, France
Label Space: A Coupled Multi-Shape Representation,James Malcolm, Yogesh Rathi, Martha Shenton, Allen Tannenbaum, Georgia Institute of Technology, Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Boston, USA.